Just Another Day…

Working as an intern this summer the I have gotten used to having multiple important jobs to do throughout the day. Whereas a normal crew member would typically mow in the morning and then have a secondary job for the afternoon my own schedule for the day is a bit more flexible. Every day brings a different job and often new jobs will arise throughout the course of the day. This can sometimes become a little chaotic but it has taught me to always be prepared for anything at work. I’ve learned to become quicker and more efficient at the jobs I have scheduled because chances are that something unplanned will need to get done and you want to make sure you have the time necessary to complete the task. Today was a perfect example of such a day. I started the morning by aerating the 5th fairway on the North Course with solid tines. I had planned on doing the same on the 15th fairways but an irrigation break interrupted those plans.

A Slight Change In Plans

Here is a closer look at what we were dealing with…

Not Your Typical Irrigation Dillemma

After getting the irrigation situation under control I once again had a job that I wasn’t exactly prepared for. To prepare for slice seeding fairways we need to test out the unit by mounting onto a tractor that looks like it was last used in the 50’s. Not my idea of a smooth ride but it was nice to add another skill to my repertoire. Three jobs for the day that you wouldn’t typically think of when you picture grounds operations at a course, just another day I suppose.

~Andrew P. Lanigan, Turf Intern~

Leave a comment